My Insanity

So there is A LOT going on right now. And while in general I prefer when things are busy, I am close to admitting that maybe…MAYBE…NewsBoy and I have taken on a bit too much this time around. Here’s a quick rundown of what we have cookin’ before I get into the down and dirty details:

• IVF Cycle # 2
• Selling our current home
• Buying a new home

PLUS I’m in my busy season at work…that means 12 to 14 hour days most of the time. So when I say we’re busy…and suddenly the word “busy” feels amazingly inadequate…I mean really busy.

So I’ll break it down one at a time. Let’s start with the houses…

We bought a condo right after we got married. I love our condo. It’s the home we created to begin our marriage in…and leaving it will be amazingly difficult for me. We’ve been through so much in our home…including deciding to have a child. But we decided it was time to move…we wanted more house and a yard…and all that jazz. So we spent the bulk of our summer weekends prepping our condo to be sold. We put it on the market just before Labor Day. Two and a half weeks later we had an offer that we were willing to accept. Everyone (including us) was shocked that we had gotten an offer so quickly. We were thrilled.

We had been house hunting. Once the condo went on the market we started. We saw somewhere in the neighborhood of 30 houses over the course of just three weeks! (See now why I haven’t posted in forever!?) But we found one. It’s got four bedrooms and two and a half bathrooms. And somehow miraculously our bid was accepted without any negotiation.

By the time September ended we had sold our beloved condo and bought a new house. (I still kinda don’t believe it.)

As of today we are out of attorney review on both properties. We hope to close on both in early November. It’s all amazingly surreal.

Now…IVF round two!

So we put the condo on the market just before Labor day…and the day after Labor day I started BCP in preparation for IVF #2. Two weeks later on September 22nd I started Lupron injections. I took my last BCP on Monday, September 28th. On October 1st I went for my first poking and prodding appointment (you know…the standard blood work and ultrasound appointment.) I started Follistim that night.

This past Tuesday was my egg retrieval. They got 14 eggs! Recuperation this time around was much easier. There was no OHSS (That’s Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome for those of you playing at home) this time. And let me tell you it has made ALL the difference. Today…three days later…I feel completely fine.

This weekend we will have the inspection and appraisal on our new house and then Sunday will be the Embryo Transfer.

And that my friends is the quick and dirty version of my life over the past month and a half.

So do you forgive me for being absent for so long?

2 thoughts on “My Insanity

  1. Wow, that’s great…all of it. I can’t believe you got 14 eggs! Did they all fertilize? How many are you having transfered? Congrats on the house, too! We should be in our new house right around Christmas. It’s nice to have something to think about other than TTC and IVF’s and eggs and transfers and well, you get the picture.

    And one of the best things about DH is that he can make me laugh so I totally understand what you are saying about that.

    Best of luck with transfer and I hope the appraisal and inspection go well!

  2. Wow–sounds overwhelming but very exciting! Good luck on IVF#2 and congrats on your new house! So much to look forward to. (-:

Leave a Reply

