The Future

I wanted to take a moment to talk to you about the future of this blog.

I’ve been thinking a lot (hence the lack of posts) over the past two weeks about what I should do. Do I keep posting here? Do I start a new blog? Do I disappear from cyberspace altogether? That last one isn’t an option, as I’ve found I really enjoy blogging.

I’ve read plenty of blogs where there are angry posts saying that once a blogger is fortunate enough to find herself pregnant or is a parent that they should close up shop and either stop posting or start an entirely new blog. Even before I found myself pregnant, I didn’t think that was exactly fair.

I mean, I’ve spoken about things that aren’t related to infertility on this blog. But I think the main reason I disagree with posts like that is simply, my infertility has helped to shape me into the woman I am today. And when I say that I mean that my infertility has shaped me in ways I think I may never understand. It broke me. It pushed me to places I never thought I’d see again, places I wasn’t sure I would survive. It brought me closer to NewsBoy and made us stronger. It made me stronger then I ever thought I could be. It is part of who I am.

And even though I am now pregnant I think it’s important to keep talking about what happens when you are somehow pregnant and infertile. I do think that pregnancy after battling infertility is different then if you are fortunate enough to be able to do things “the old fashioned way”. Infertility takes so much from us and leaves us with fears and insecurities that I’m not sure ever actually go away. (I’m sure this is something I will come back to time and time again.)

Once I came to that realization…my decision was made. I will continue to post here throughout my pregnancy and beyond. If reading about my pregnancy is too hard for you or hurts you, I am truly sorry. I do completely understand if you stop visiting me here. I will miss you and wish you nothing but the best.

6 thoughts on “The Future

  1. I’m glad you decided to stick around! ๐Ÿ™‚ Pregnancy after IF is unique and it gives me hope. I am excited for you and excited to hear updates!

  2. I definitely agree with you. While I totally understand if someone wants to open a new blog when they reach this stage, I don’t think it should be a “have to.” It’s YOUR space. Write about whatever you want here. If someone doesn’t want to read your updates, no one is forcing them too.

    I also agree that IF changes you. It’s simply not possible to be a happy, oblivious pregnant person once you DO get there. We know too well all that can go wrong.

    So, I applaud you for staying put and will continue to check in and see how you are doing.

    Hugs,
    Jo

  3. “Iโ€™ve read plenty of blogs where there are angry posts saying that once a blogger is fortunate enough to find herself pregnant or is a parent that they should close up shop and either stop posting or start an entirely new blog.”

    Hmm I hope I’ve never written one of those? *looks round awkwardly*

    I will admit that people “change” their writing style once they’re knocked up, they’re bound to. I have no issue with people writing about their pregnancies or their children, after all it’s their blog.

    I do have an issue with people who find themselves knocked up who feel the need to tell those still ttc or even those who have given up that “it WILL happen for you too one day”, all that does is install false hope and it pisses me right orf LOL

    I say write what feels right….you will lose some readers but gain others. Since our journey has ended and I’ve written alot of angry, dark hateful posts I’ve lost readers but then I’ve gained some too. I make no apologies for what I’m writing at the moment, it’s part of the process, just like you should make no apologies for wanting to blog about the journey you’re on.

    xxx

  4. I’m glad you posted this. It’s a tough line to walk. I will continue to read because I find your story inspirational and I want to see how it plays out. Just as IF changed and molded you, so too will pregnancy and parenthood. Your posts will change but it’s all part of the progression of life. I wish nothing but good things for you…and I can’t wait to see u/s pictures and nursery pictures because I AM happy for you. That doesn’t mean I’m not jealous, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

