Exhaustion

I’ve got maybe two or three different posts floating around my head. Random topics and relevant ones as well but i can’t seem to focus enough to get them out.

I’ve been dealing with insomnia. In addition to my insomnia I’m also experiencing severe hip and lower back pain. Enough for me to complain about it. I tend not to complain about pain…I have a high threshold due to two herniated discs in my neck. So pain and numbness aren’t new to me. I’ve been dealing with them for over a decade.

This is different. Sitting…standing…lying down…it hurts. And it’s keeping me awake. Or I should say that it’s waking me up. Once I’m awake…be it 10pm or 2am I’m just awake for the duration.

I went to the doctor about a week ago…after two straight nights of not sleeping at all I realized that something had to change. I go to a group…all but one of whom I like. So of course since it was an “emergency” visit, I had to see the one doctor I really can’t stand. (And that is putting it mildly.) This specific doctor has no bedside manor at all. In fact…he’s a dick. (Again…that’s putting it very mildly.) He’s one of those men who thinks that women are nothing but a vessel for a child. Pregnancy pains and related issues are something to just deal with as far as he is concerned. No matter how bad they are.

So when he finally came into the exam room I was waiting in he said “There’s nothing I can do. You really just have to deal with it, it’s part of pregnancy.” Didn’t even say hello.

I am WELL aware that aches and pains are part of pregnancy. But when said aches and pains are keeping you from sleeping, isn’t that kinda bad for what’s growing inside you? Just saying…

After explaining to him that I haven’t slept because of said hip pain and insomnia in 2 days he gave me a prescription for Ambien. I’ve taken it twice…but the thing is…I’m kinda afraid to keep taking it. I’ve done my research. It’s the same pregnancy class as Benedryl (which my doctor told me I could take if needed.) I’m not sure why I’m not taking it.

But I’m not sleeping. I’ve been up since 3am today. It’s only 10am. Not so sure I’ll make it through the day without (at minimum) freaking out on one of my co-workers.

4 thoughts on “Exhaustion

  1. What a douche of a doctor. I’ve been having hip pain more and more lately, too and I’m not even pregnant. It wakes me up at night and keeps me up. I recently went to the doctor and he said I should not be having these pains. He sent me for x-rays and blood work (getting done Friday) and I see him again on 4/6. Maybe you should contact your PCP about your hip pains? Just a thought. I know you can’t have x-rays but there might be something more you can find out from a regular doctor that doesn’t just excuse everything as pregnancy related. Best of luck with the sleeping…you must be exhausted.

  2. Ugh, that’s terrible. Both the horrible pain keeping you from sleeping and the obnoxious doctor. Can you try to see one of the other docs? Not sleeping can’t be good and I know you’d want to limit the amount of drugs you’re taking.

    I hope you can get something figured out soon and get some sleep!!!

  3. I am sorry that you saw the dr with no bedside manners! I admire that you were assertive and did not take no for an answer! Hope that the pain resolves itself soon so you can sleep without taking the meds!

Leave a Reply

