Subway Etiquette

In general when on the subway I stand. Or rather I did before I got pregnant. Sure if I’ll sit if there’s a seat or if it’s a long ride. But the vast majority of the time I will stand. And honestly most of the time now I still stand.

Now, while it isn’t a rule, general subway etiquette says that you get up and give your seat to someone who is injured or pregnant. I have never seen anyone (but myself, friends I’m with or NewsBoy) actually do this.

So imagine my shock when not once but twice this week I was offered a seat by a stranger! One went as far as to yell at a young kid who was about to sit in the seat she had just vacated for me.

I thanked her profusely but said that I had been sitting all day and would be getting off at the next stop so I didn’t want the seat.

Don’t believe everything you read folks…there are kind New Yorkers.

5 thoughts on “Subway Etiquette

  1. What a very nice story. Although, it’s still sort of sad that we are shocked by nice people, isn’t it?

    I’m glad you and baby News are doing good. And boring OB appointments (from what I hear) are the best kind. πŸ™‚

    Lots of happy wishes for continued boredom.

  2. LoL—its nice to know they’re out there. But you know you had the niceness coming because you’re in the habit. I’m not a big believer in Karma…but i guess what goes around comes around. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

