Shower

My baby shower will be this weekend. I was informed by my mother that my brother plans on “stopping by at the end” to show off his new son to our family, because no one has seen him yet.

I have a couple of issues with this….the biggest being it really would have been nice had he asked me if this was okay, instead of just telling my mother that he was doing this. My brother and SIL chose to move two hours from our entire family. That was their choice and so its their own fault no one has seen him.

I also know my brother…he will show up an hour to hour and a half before the shower is supposed to end. I honestly have no problem with him bringing my nephew for the last half hour. But my brother will show up much earlier then that.

Yes there are bigger issues I have with my brother. Like the fact that he and my SIL came up here to get haircuts 15 minutes from my house (at my hair dresser!) and never told me, or my parents. Or the fact that I have been asking to come visit them since my nephew was born over 2 months ago but have been told time and time again that they are too busy to see us only to find out that their friends and my SIL’s family were why they were busy.

But, I’ve waited a long time for this…to actually be ready and excited to celebrate and plan to welcome this child. And I can’t help but (selfishly) feel that my brother is stealing my thunder just a tiny bit.

3 thoughts on “Shower

  1. I think it’s very insensitive of your brother and SIL to debut their child at your shower. I’d be pissed, too. Especially reading a little on the background of why no one has seen the little guy yet. As long as you waited for your baby and this shower and to shine, you deserve to have ALL the thunder. Hmph. So sorry that your day might get disrupted by this. I guess, just try to enjoy as much of your celebration as you can. I think you will, anyway. 🙂

  2. I’d be super annoyed to. You deserve to have your day and your brothers had two months of chances to come and have his day. I guess the silver lining is that you’ll have lots of cool new stuff AND you get to meet your nephew =)

  3. I don’t think you’re being selfish AT ALL!

    If it was me I’d be ringing my brother up and telling him that he’s welcome to come but not until the last half an hour. IF he has a problem with this, tough, explain that IT’S YOUR DAY and that you’ve waited A LONG TIME for this day.

    I would make this call and I would also tell your Mum that you don’t want him there til the last half an hour as well, in fact tell as many people as possible, so that everyone knows if he does turn up early you’re not going to be happy – that way IF he does, hopefully they will still keep the attention on the person it should be on YOU.

    Big hugs

    xxx

Leave a Reply

